DO I REALLY NEED A DWI LAWYER? The Answer is “Yes”
If you have been charged with a DWI, the consequences can be severe and long-lasting. The right DWI Lawyer can make all the difference.
A DWI can affect almost every aspect your life. Your job, driver’s license, and your freedom are just the start. DWI/DUI allegations can result in license suspensions, jail time, probation, and even possibly a lifetime driver’s license revocation.
What is a DWI? DUI? DWAI? DWAI Drugs?
Understanding what you are charged with is the first step in your defense.
In New York State “DWI” is Driving While Intoxicated. The Term DUI is simply a popular and confusing term used for DWI in different states. It stands for Driving Under Intoxication.
“DWAI” is short for driving while ability impaired by alcohol. This is less severe charge then DWI and carries far less punishment.
“DWAI Drugs” is short for driving while ability by drugs. This can be any number of drugs, narcotics, marijuana, or prescription drugs that affect the way you operate the vehicle.
A full list of alcohol and drug-related violations in New York State can include:
- DWI: BAC .08 or higher, or other evidence of intoxication for drivers of private vehicles.
- DWI: BAC .04 or higher, or other evidence of intoxication for drivers of commercial vehicles.
- Aggravated DWI: .18 BAC or higher.
- DWAI / Alcohol: .05 to .07 BAC or other evidence of impairment while driving a private vehicle.
- DWAI / Alcohol: .02 BAC for drivers of commercial vehicles or drivers under the age of 21 for any private vehicle.
- DWI/ Drugs: Impaired by a single drug other than alcohol.
- DWAI / Combination: Driving while impaired by combined influence of drugs or alcohol.
- Felony DWI: Prior DWI / DWAI Drug charges or conviction, Vehicular Assault in the 1st or 2nd degree, or Vehicular Manslaughter in the 1st or 2nd degree, within the past 10 years you can be charged with a felony.
Fines for DWI and DWAI in New York State?
Fines for DWI in New York State and DWAI depend on many factors. First, it depends on what you specifically were convicted of and how many prior DWI related incidents you have on your record.
This total fine range for a DWI/DWAI can be anywhere from $300-$10,000.00 with the applicable surcharges.
The best defense is to put an experienced DWI lawyer on your side
An experienced DWI lawyer has ability to properly review your certain case (and the underlying facts) to leverage the best plea agreement possible. Just because you were charged with DWI does not mean you need to be convicted of DWI.
Legal factors we look into include the basis for the stop, probable cause to arrest, reviewing breath test documents, examining the sufficiency of the paperwork, and minimizing all potential penalties you may face.
EXPERIENCED AND AFFORDABLE BINGHAMTON DWI LAWYERS
As a former DWI Prosecutor, Attorney Christopher Brown has the skills set and experience to aggressively defend your case.
Why does this matter?
This is so important because DWI law and DWI charges are very complex. Attorney Chris Brown has seen and litigated virtually every type of DWI case possible. From first-time offenders to people who have 5 or more DWI related convictions.
Call us today to schedule a free consultation with Attorney Chris Brown at (607) 988-3131.